Fun with Suzie blue

The rebuild has begun

Not much happened during the past few weeks but now things are back on track.

I have received the last few parts from the polishing shop – the carb bodies and I got new floats and gaskets waiting to be installed. Tonight i rebuild the carbs!

In the mean time I started on the right side engine cover. I swapped the points. It’s a weird set up where the 3 points are not all the same. I also installed a new oil seal in engine cover for the kickstart. The seal was different from the stock unit as the outer part is made of metal, it looks more like a ball bearing. Twas a bitch to put it in, I had to heat the cover in the oven at 90C for a bit while I placed the seal in the freezer. The heat expansion allowed the seal to fit but it took some hammering.

I also re wrapped the wires that go to the points in heat shrink tubing as the original plastic tube was all brittle and cracked.

Leave a comment