Fun with Suzie blue

Top end comes off

So today I decided to take the top end off. I want to get the head and cylinder cleaned up as there is a lot of surface corrosion on the alloy.

Last known picture of the top end intact

First I took off the carbs. The rubber boots are harder than Chinese algebra and will be replaced. I cheked inside the carbs. Looks OK. They have been cleaned and rebuilt recently. However the metal floats have been crushed a bit. I may look for better ones.

Carb bowl. Looks like it was cleaned recently

Dinged up float

Then the head came off followed by the cylinders. This took some time with 24 nuts that are not always easy to reach and some tiny and very tight hoses for oil recirculation. The head is in perfect shape but I wish I could say the same about the pistons and barrels.

The cyclinder barrels are scored and a bit rusty, surface only damage so rebore should not be required, rehoning should do. The cyclinders are already at 0.5 oversize  so they have been bored up in the past.  The pistons look mighty bad. The center one in particular has some nasty seizure mark. This is beyond cleaning but I found some new pistons on ebay from japan.

Taking the pin off the piston was a bitch. I had to rig an extractor using a bearing puller to get it out.

Serious seizure scoring on the center piston

Leave a comment